Dead Poet’s Society

Price: $3.99 to rent. 14.99 to buy.

Robin Williams’ passing has inspired me to re-watch a movie that I keep very close to my heart.

Besides starring in Aladdin and Hook, which are two movies that I grew up on, Robin Williams’ performance in Dead Poet’s Society was pretty much life changing for me.

download

I was 17 years old, overweight (if we are being totally honest here) and in my high school literature class when my teacher explained the importance of watching Dead Poet’s Society – not only for a literature lesson, but in life.

Seriously guys, I sobbed in the middle of my English class. I mean, thankfully it was an all girl’s school so 95% of the class was crying, but the movie is so moving that I promise you will shed a tear or two (or 633, in my case).

The message of the movie can be found in Robin Williams’ (who plays Mr. Keatings) quote: “Carpe Diem. Seize the day, boys. Make your lives extraordinary”. At that point in my life, the only thing I was “seizing” was my food and my family’s internet bandwidth spending 18 hours a day on AIM. I was so fascinated with the characters that found their different passions and threw their whole lives into it.

I really try and take Mr. Keating’s (Robin) lessons into everyday life. There are few movies that have so many powerful messages in it so PLEASE go watch this movie (or rewatch) this weekend. It is always an eye opener.

 

Ok now that I am crying, again, I will go back to work.

 

Carpe Diem,

Jules

12 thoughts on “Dead Poet’s Society

  1. virtual hug….coming at you. And now I will be watching that movie with my steppie. Thank you for giving such a meaningful insight on the impact one movie can make on a person.

  2. I’m so embarrassed to say I’ve never seen this movie, but that will be changing this week!! he touched all our lives even though we never met him…that is truly a gift! xo

  3. Dead Poet Society is one of my all time favorite movies!!! There are so many powerful messages in there. I felt sadness yesterday when i heard of Robin Williams passing, which I rarely feel when celebrities pass. That man was involved in so many different movies and created so much laughter. I also find it sad how he passed. Carpe Diem.

Leave a Reply

