Fiore

Price: $7.00

Ok, long story short, I am home today. I will be spending my ENTIRE day in my pool and reading – with a break for my softball game at 7 PM.

There is one thing that I love about being home on Mondays. Actually, there is more like a million and one things I love about being home on Mondays, but we will focus on one.

Hoboken is known for a bunch of cool things. Frank Sinatra was born here, the first baseball game ever was played here, and we have some of the most amazing food on the east coast.

 

photo-2

 

..such as this beauty. This Italian Deli has been around since 1913 and has THE best mozzarella cheese in America. They’re sandwiches are amazing, but you can only order the “special” every day and, in my opinion, Monday takes the cake. Virginia ham, fresh mozz (pronounced mutz – gotta learn the lingo or they will shun you), and a little bit of the most incredible gravy.

image image-2

So yes, I walked round trip of 4 miles to get this bad boy this morning. They give you mutz (catching on?) samples while you wait and everyone that works there looks like your Italian grandpa. A smile goes a long way with them. Next time you are in my neck of the woods, go here. You won’t regret it.

 

I am EXTRA grateful to be able to spend today by the pool on this gorgeous day and eat my favorite sandwich. What a start to the week!

 

Cheeeeeesin’ hard,

Jules

 

8 thoughts on “Fiore

  1. The thing I miss most about the north, is all the authentic Italian places!!! They always have the best cheeses, meats and obviously pasta related things. This looks and sounds incredible!!!!

  2. I live in a predominantly Italian area in Central NY and Mozzarella is pronounced the same way here. Outsiders have no clue what we are talking about!

  3. Pingback: Fiore
  4. Popping over from the link-up — hello Hoboken!! I lived in NYC for 5 years before moving to London (& Jersey City for a bit before that) and let me tell you – they do NOT understand delis over here. I miss a proper meatball sub like you wouldn’t believe…and cannoli!! 🙂

  5. Well that settles it. I’m coming over to your house next Monday! 😉 Seriously, I don’t even eat meat and I’m craving one of those subs!

  6. I have to let my cousin know about Fiore’s – they live in Hoboken too – we are trying to plan a trip there this summer 🙂

Leave a Reply

