“A little nonsense now and then, is relished by the wisest men.” – Willy Wonka

Price: $10.00

I am going to share a story that I am somewhat embarrassed of.

Probably not the best idea on a public blog, but I like you guys and that’s what this is here for. Right? Right.

Back in the day, I somehow landed the role as the Tin Man in my middle school play. There are pictures of me, with braces, and silver body paint from head to toe. I was wrapped in tin foil and sent out to sing “If I only had a heart” in front of a few hundred people. Thanks, Mom and Dad. My boyfriend still hasn’t seen the pictures and he never will.  Unfortunately, I didn’t see how humiliating this could be for years to come because after I exited the stage, I had a bunch of little kids running up and asking for my autograph. I was 11 AND IT WAS AWESOME. I knew I was going to be a movie star (I work in a cubicle currently) and I basically immediately signed up for next year.

Next year’s play: Willy Wonka. I had images of gorgeous melted chocolate rivers flying through my middle school gym. I was wondering how they were going to match the smell that you receive in the Hershey’s Chocolate Tour (Anyone know what I’m talkin’ about?!)  We had auditions and the cast list went up. I was: The Blueberry Girl. I had so many questions!  How were they going to turn me blue? Were they going to have midgets playing Ooma Loompas to roll me off of the stage?

The Oompa Loompas ended up being kindergarteners, but they did turn me blue. And they did blow me up using a air hose and a garbage bag to turn into a blueberry. As always, there are pictures.Anyway, both the Wizard of Oz and Willy Wonka have a special place in my heart. At 24, I can still sing every song to both plays and recite the entire opening monologue of Violet, The Blueberry Girl. (“Violet, you’re turning Violet, Violet!”).

I need a new iPhone case and came across this:

(source)

I need it. Mostly because its bikini season and I can’t stop thinking about living in a chocolate factory, but but it reminds me of my short lived life of a movie star.

 

Totally Fabulous,

Jules

2 thoughts on ““A little nonsense now and then, is relished by the wisest men.” – Willy Wonka

Leave a Reply

